

PRESS RELEASE

CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE COLVILLE RESERVATION

Media Contact: Meghan Francis meghan.francis.cbc@colvilletribes.com

For Immediate Release June 30, 2017

Tribes Elect Colville Business Council Members

(Nespelem, WA)- - Seven Colville Business Council members whose terms will run from 2017-2019 were elected Thursday, including three incumbents and four new CBC. Those elected will be sworn in July 13, after which the CBC will elect officers and appoint committee chairs.

In the Nespelem District, Position 1, Rodney Cawston was elected. For Nespelem District, Position 2, Andrew Joseph Jr., a longtime CBC member, defeated candidate Charlene Bearcub.

In the Inchelium District, Position 1, Joel Boyd defeated Allen Hammond. Boyd is the son of former CBC Chairman Jim Boyd, who passed unexpectedly in June of 2016. Incumbent Susie Allen defeated challenger Marvin Kheel for Inchelium's Position 2. Keller District incumbent Jack Ferguson retained his CBC position with a win over John Stensgar.

The Omak District will be represented by two new CBC members: Norma Sanchez in Position 1, who won against current CBC member Richard Tonasket, and Melissa Louis in Position 2, who defeated Russell Boyd.

The entire CBC, of 14 members, is the governing body of the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation.

###

About the Colville Tribes:

Today, more than 9,535 descendants of 12 aboriginal tribes of Indians are enrolled in the Confederated Tribes of the Colville. The tribes, commonly known by English and French names, are: the Colville, the Nespelem, the San Poil, the Lake, the Palus, the Wenatchi (Wenatchee), the Chelan, the Entiat, the Methow, the southern Okanogan, the Moses Columbia and the Nez Perce of Chief Joseph's Bands.